Gender Reveal Party: It’s A…

For those of you wondering, a gender reveal party is a gathering where you reveal the gender of your baby in a fun way. Sometimes not even the parents know until the big reveal!
We decided to do a gender reveal party for our 3rd child. My husband and I found out the gender beforehand and then chose to reveal the gender with frosting filled cupcakes. We invited all our family and a close friend who is like a sister to me.

I plan on adding photos to this post later on (they are stored on my external hard drive right now).

It was a really great time. It was also the first time I had hosted a party or event at my own home so I was pretty nervous about how it would go. Everyone seemed to have a great time, both the families got along and most importantly my husband and I had a blast keeping everyone guessing. I am really glad that I chose to do a gender reveal and that our next child will have their own celebration to be told about.

The day that my husband and I actually found out the gender was about 2 weeks before. We decided to not find out in the ultrasound room but instead had the technician write the gender on a piece of paper. We then went to enjoy an adult dinner together (William was with one of his great-grandmothers that day). I gave our waitress the envelope and told her that we didn’t know the gender of our next child yet. For dessert I asked if she could bring out a cheesecake with either blueberries on top or strawberries. Obviously blueberries would mean it was a boy, and strawberries would mean it was a girl. The waitress was wonderful and very excited about the whole thing. Hubby and I had to sit through dinner and patiently wait. But it was exciting and fun to do our own little private gender reveal.

So here is our dessert. (I had started eating before thinking ‘Oh I should take a photo!’)

Which means it is a BOY!
Yup, we’re going to have two boys running around. No one will ever be able to say my house isn’t exciting.
As for names, we chose Ignatius Solomon. Ignatius is Latin meaning ‘fiery.’ Solomon is Hebrew meaning ‘peaceful’.
Oh and the paper that we asked the ultrasound technician to write down the gender on, she instead decided to print an ultrasound picture that clearly showed our son’s gender with the caption “It’s a boy!” So our very cheerful and wonderful waitress got that handed to her, which I did not realize until she asked me if I wanted the photo back. Oops.

Posted in Family, Raising Children

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 100 other followers

Blog Hops:
Archives
Topics
