Unfinished Posts and Party Planning

I just realized I have 8 drafts of blog posts. Either they were ideas I did not have the time to write about at that moment or posts that require a lot of time to research. Some of them are very important topics and I should finish them. But for now I am going to write about party planning and then cook supper.

My son’s 1st birthday is still 2 months away but I am getting a head start on planning the party. Why? Because I am a terrible, terrible procrastinator. Especially when it comes to writing or mailing anything, such as invitations.
Right now I am trying to figure out who to invite. We have a lot of family and friends who have been so supportive of us. I want to invite a lot of people, but I also don’t want to seem crazy. It’s a hard balance. Just family and a few friends who have said they would like to come brings the number of guests up around 60. Now I am sure some won’t be able to make it, since it is likely going to be on a Monday evening, but still.
I’m not too worried about William and a crowd. He loves being out and around a lot of people as long as he has had his naps. I’m actually a little more worried about me and crowds. I’m not a big party person and I haven’t really hosted any big events of my own. It is going to be a challenge for me to make sure that everyone has a good time. Especially when many of the guests will not know each other at all.

So far we have established that we should have a child safe corner for younger children and their parents to hang out in. With lots of toys of course so that the kids can be happy and entertained.
We have also discussed having “adult” foods, and then more kid friendly snacks. I am more considering the fact that there will hopefully be a few children around Williams age and also some older children. At Williams age he still needs foods that he can mash with his gums, things like banana or watermelon. So I’d like to have age appropriate snacks for everyone.
Then we were discussing the cake. We have been keeping William away from processed sugars as much as possible. He also loves banana. So we are going to do a healthy banana cake for him and anyone else who would like it. I am also considering doing a more traditional chocolate cake for those who don’t like banana.
We may have a place to hold the party. I still want to look at it and it does not have a kitchen facility but we live a short distance up the road so that won’t be too much of an issue.
It’s going to be jungle themed. I’ve already decided that.
Beyond what I have above, I’m not sure what is happening yet. I need to pin down a guest list. Make a list of possible food. Perhaps recruit some willing family members to help and decide how to keep everyone entertained. I’m thinking about looking into having games for the kids (and maybe the adults too). I’ll probably be doing some sort of favors for the kids, but I am not sure what that will be yet.

Of course there is also the goal of keeping this under a manageable budget. And the primary goal of making sure William has fun throughout this entire thing.

Party planning is not easy. 🙂

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Family, Raising Children

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 99 other followers

Blog Hops:
Archives
Topics
